Expert Alerts are the notifications that you are sent when content on the site matches one of your saved searches. They can be in the form of on-site, mobile, or email notifications.
You will need to set the Alert settings for each saved search individually. You have the option of turning on on-site notifications and email alerts for each search.
You must verify your email address in order to receive Expert Alert emails. You can select from the following email alert frequencies:
- Every Result: You will be sent a separate Expert Alert email every time something matches your search.
- Hourly Digest: You will be sent an Expert Alert email once an hour with a list of everything that matches your search. Note that no Alert will be sent if there are no results that match your search in that hour.
- Daily Digest: You will be sent an Expert Alert email once a day with a list of everything that matches your search. Note that no Alert will be sent if there are no results that match your search in that day.
Posting a comment on a question will not trigger an Expert Alert.
There are some restrictions on when an Expert Alert can be sent:
- This means that a saved search that searches for content with a comment count that is not zero will not reliably send out Expert Alerts.
- It also means that a saved search that searches for comment activity will not reliably send out Expert Alerts.
Changing the status of a question or Expert Testing project (such as closing it) will not trigger an Expert Alert.
- This means that a saved search that searches for questions with solutions, or closed Expert Testing projects, will not reliably send out Expert Alerts.
Of course, the saved searches themselves will continue to work as expected for this kind of search. You can always log into your account and click on the saved search in your workspace to see all results.
Additionally, if you monitor or participate in a question, you’ll still receive notifications when a comment is posted or the question is closed.
We will only notify you once for each result in a 30 day period, regardless of how many saved searches you have that match that result.
If you want to turn off or change the frequency of your Expert Alerts, check out this article.