You will find the follow button on member profiles and other places around the site.
Follow button in profile
Follow button in search results
Follow button in avatar hover
Clicking the follow button adds that member to your network. You can see your entire network, which includes members you are following as well as members who are following you, on the Network section of your profile. A full count of how many people are in your network is also shown here.
View full network
Any new activity from members you are following is shown on your home page.
There are several settings related to following, which you can adjust in the Communications section of the settings page under Network.
- Do you want to follow and be followed by other members? This setting lets you enable or disable the ability to follow and be followed by other members of Experts Exchange. If you are interested in using the site to network, we recommend keeping this setting turned on.
- Do you want to be sent notifications when someone follows you? You can be sent notifications on-site or via email if someone else follows you. Note that you can set up an email alert immediately with each new follow or you can receive daily or weekly digests.
Following settings under Communications tab
The Block Button
If you wish to be available to follow and be followed by other members on the site, but there is a single member whom you do not wish to follow or be followed by, you can use the Block button to prevent that person from following you or sending you a message.
You will see a list of all members you have blocked in your Network Settings. You can unblock any of them from this page by clicking “Unblock”.
Unblock button in Blocked list
*Note: Moderators and Site Administrators cannot be blocked, because they may need to send you messages that provide you with important information about your account.